24 December 2007

Clear Win for Fadzil at Clearwater 2007

Ahmad Fadzil Nayan won the Clearwater Sanctuary yesterday with a perfect 6/6 score ahead of 48 players. The event was held at the beautiful Clearwater Water Sanctuary Golf and Country Resort which sponsored the venue and prizes of 2 Nights' stay at the resort located just outside Batu Gajah town. Perak International Chess Association (PICA) organised the event.

20-year old Fadzil hails from Kampung Lambor not far from the venue and currently a student at Universiti Islam Antarabangsa, Gombak. He comes from a well-known Perak chess family and first came into prominence as a 9-year old boy winning against older and adult players in PICA events back in 1996.

One year later, a 10-year old Fadzil won the bronze medal (under-12) for Perak at the 1997 MSSM Championship (behind Aaron Yee (Gold), also from Perak, and Penang’s Jonathan Chuah (Silver)). That was the last year chess appeared in the MSSM calendar until reinstatement in 2004. Fadzil went on to represent Malaysia at the World Youth U16 Chess Olympiad held in Kuala Lumpur in 2002 and the Malaysia-Singapore matches.

1st Prize for Fadzil consists of RM200 cash plus a 1-night stay at the Clearwater Sanctuary Resort for 2 persons valued at RM160.

14-year old Fong Yit Ho from nearby Kampar, ended runner-up on tie-break ahead of 3rd place Azlan Shah.
Arbiters Yunus Sharif and NM Chan Swee Loon hard at work


Prize Winners:

ChampionAhmad Fadzil NayanRM200 + 1 Night’s Stay At Clearwater
2ndFong Yit HoRM120+ 1 Night’s Stay At Clearwater
3rd Azlan ShahRM100
4th Fong Yit SanRM80
5th Bakri Abdul KarimRM60
6th Aamir BashirRM50
7th Agus BaharuddinRM40
8th Ahmad Mudzafar RamliRM30
9th Ooi Chong LipRM30
10th Mohd Johan JamilRM30
Best VeteranRashid IsmailRM40
Best U16 BoyFirdaus KamarudinRM30
BU16 GirlEe Shu JingRM30
Best U12 BoyEe Kong YunRM20
Best U12 GirlFong Mi LynRM20

Final Standings

1Ahmad Fadzil Nayan6.021.521.5
2Fong Yit Ho 5.021.515.5
3Azlan Shah
4Fong Yit San 4.521.515.0
5Bakri Abdul Karim
6Aamir Bashir 4.022.514.5
7Agus Baharuddin4.021.012.0
8Ahmad Mudzafar Ramli4.020.511.0
9Ooi Chong Lip 4.020.510.5
10Mohd Johan Jamil
11Mohd Azizul Hakim
12Azmi Ishak
13Ooi Chong Hean
14Mustafa Kamal Zamhuri 4.017.512.0
15Mat Zaki Yeop
16Firdaus Kamarudin 3.522.012.0
17Azwan Zaabah 3.519.59.8
18Mark Siew 3.519.010.0
19Lau Tuck Khein 3.516.59.3
20Ng Zhan Jian 3.514.06.3
21Ee Kong Yun
22Subramaniam Demudu3.021.59.0
23Chan Wei Minh
25Syamaizar Lop
26Muhd Hazim Mohamad
27Raja Babar Nasser
28Chong Sue Sin
29Muhammad Syamil
30Ee Shu Jing 2.520.07.5
31Rashid Ismail 2.520.07.3
32Mohd Izwan 2.520.06.3
33Cheang Weng Chuing 2.519.04.8
34Mohd Azlan 2.517.06.8
35Lau Jing Wen 2.517.04.8
36Tay Yun Min
37Mohd Aiman
38Muhamad Faiz Mahaidin
39Ee Kong Liang
40Ahmad Shukri
41Tay Yun Yean
42Shuvethan Siva
43Ahmad Kamal 1.517.02.8
44Junwibowo 1.515.03.3
45Fong Mi Lyn
46Ee Kong Yu
47Noor Amalina 0.515.00.3
48Yee Mei Yi

Cross Table (in Seeding Order)

1Mustafa Kamal Zamhuri 25:L43:W18:L31:W23:W16:W
2Bakri Abdul Karim 26:W17:W20:W7:W5:L12:L
3Ahmad Mudzafar Ramli 27:W18:W14:L20:L28:W8:W
4Ooi Chong Hean 28:W20:L21:L30:W35:W17:W
5Ahmad Fadzil Nayan 29:W22:W35:W14:W2:W6:W
6Ooi Chong Lip 30:W32:L22:W36:W16:W5:L
7Agus Baharuddin 31:W24:W45:W2:L32:W14:L
8Syamaizar Lop 32:L34:W28:W18:L38:W3:L
9Mohd Johan Jamil 33:W25:D32:D21:D36:W11:D
10Azmi Ishak 34:W36:D19:L37:W21:W32:D
11Mohd Azizul Hakim 35:L31:W24:W29:W20:D9:D
12Azlan Shah 36:L38:W40:W35:W18:W2:W
13Mat Zaki Yeop 37:W35:L27:W45:L41:W18:W
14Fong Yit Ho 38:W40:W3:W5:L45:W7:W
15Junwibowo 39:W45:L29:L25:L31:L33:D
16Muhammad Syamil Zaki 40:L42:W30:W47:W6:L1:L
17Raja Babar Nasser 41:W2:L47:L33:W29:W4:L
18Chan Wei Minh 42:W3:L1:W8:W12:L13:L
19Azwan Zaabah 43:D47:W10:W32:L25:W20:L
20Fong Yit San 44:W4:W2:L3:W11:D19:W
21Mark Siew 45:L33:W4:W9:D10:L39:W
22Kamaruddin 46:W5:L6:L41:L33:W47:W
23Lau Tuck Khein 47:L37:D39:W43:W1:L45:W
24Ee Kong Liang 48:W7:L11:L28:L26:L30:W
25Ee Shu Jing 1:W9:D36:L15:W19:L26:L
26Ng Zhan Jian 2:L39:D43:L42:W24:W25:W
27Ahmad Shukri 3:L44:W13:L38:L40:L34:W
28Muhd Hazim Mohamad 4:L41:W8:L24:W3:L38:W
29Cheang Weng Chuing 5:L46:W15:W11:L17:L40:D
30Fong Mi Lyn 6:L48:W16:L4:L46:L24:L
31Chong Sue Sin 7:L11:L42:W1:L15:W44:W
32Aamir Bashir 8:W6:W9:D19:W7:L10:D
33Ahmad Kamal 9:L21:L44:W17:L22:L15:D
34Ee Kong Yu 10:L8:L37:L46:L48:W27:L
35Ee Kong Yun 11:W13:W5:L12:L4:L46:W
36Firdaus Kamarudin 12:W10:D25:W6:L9:L43:W
37Lau Jing Wen 13:L23:D34:W10:L39:L41:W
38Mohd Aiman 14:L12:L48:W27:W8:L28:L
39Mohd Azlan 15:L26:D23:L40:W37:W21:L
40Mohd Izwan 16:W14:L12:L39:L27:W29:D
41Muhamad Faiz Mahaidin 17:L28:L46:W22:W13:L37:L
42Noor Amalina 18:L16:L31:L26:L44:L48:D
43Rashid Ismail 19:D1:L26:W23:L47:W36:L
44Shuvethan Siva 20:L27:L33:L48:W42:W31:L
45Subramaniam Demudu 21:W15:W7:L13:W14:L23:L
46Tay Yun Yean 22:L29:L41:L34:W30:W35:L
47Tay Yun Min 23:W19:L17:W16:L43:L22:L
48Yee Mei Yi 24:L30:L38:L44:L34:L42:D


hairulov chessmaniacs said...
Hi Eddy, Nice to see and hear you "back" into chess. I enjoyed your Malay Mail article (Chess Mail) before. Good job! Hairulov
edfong said...
Hi Hairul I am Eddy Fong and not the famous Eddie Chua (formerly) of Malay Mail. And I enjoy your Chessmaniacs blog very much.
hairulov chessmaniacs said...
ooh sorry ...but thanks anyway..somehow your name are fimiliar for me in local chess scence. tq